Side Effects: Mood swings

Most of the physical side effects I just wait out. I am used to my body changing. It is sort of funny to experience it yet again. But the timespan now is a bit shorter 😉 I am not sure where it is going, but I am not worried too much.

The side effects that do worry me though, are the mood swings. I think it is mainly because of the reduction of steroids that I now am so hyper-aware of my mood, or hyper-aware of the effect of certain hormones on my mood. If that makes any sense at all… Now I can feel like shit from one moment to another, for no apparent reason. And people notice! My colleague laughed his ass off when I was telling a couple of bulbs off for not growing flowers fast enough… :/

I still have to learn how to manage this. But in the meantime, I am letting it get me down. It literally drives me crazy. I can’t (yet!) snap out of it by myself. And it feels like going insane. Or at least, that is what I suppose it could feel like because it is hard to recognize myself at those times.

I suppose that my cycle and my medical treatment together don’t really have the best effect on me mentally, or the stabilising effect of the steroids (nobody ever described steroids like this, to me, it is a calming blanket) has been rudely stripped away. Combine this with the fact that the diagnosis is finally starting to sink in a little bit, and it makes sense for me to seek out help to get me through this particular rough patch.

Leave a comment